2014 Robert Foster Cherry Award for Great Teaching, Baylor University

Excerpt from press release, Baylor University:

WACO, Texas (Jan. 16, 2014) – Baylor University has named Meera Chandrasekhar, Ph.D., Professor of Physics and Astronomy and Curator’s Teaching Professor of Physics at the University of Missouri, as the 2014 recipient of the Robert Foster Cherry Award for Great Teaching, Baylor University. As the Cherry Award winner, she will receive $250,000 and an additional $25,000 for his/her home department and will teach in residence at Baylor during fall 2014 or spring 2015. She was chosen as the winner from among three finalists. 

WACO, Texas (April 18, 2013) – Three preeminent scholar/teachers from U.S. universities have been selected as finalists for Baylor University’s 2014 news article.

Missouri Educator Award, 2008

The Missouri Educator Award is presented annually by the Science Teachers of Missouri (STOM) to an individual in recognition of his/her outstanding effort to promote and influence quality science education in the state of Missouri.

Presidential Award for Outstanding Teaching, 2006

President Elson Floyd of the University of Missouri System presented the Presidential Award for Outstanding Teaching to Meera Chandrasekhar at a ceremony hosted by the Curators at the Saint Louis Campus in May 2006. This $15,000 award recognizes a faculty member for long term contributions to teaching. A systemwide committee of faculty evaluates nominations submitted by the four chancellors.

Curators’ Distinguished Teaching Professorship, 2004

Each Distinguished Teaching Professor is a resource for the entire University through such activities as giving lectures on other campuses, assisting in improving the quality of teaching at the University, and engaging in teaching across divisional lines. During any given year the Chancellor may recommend an outstanding faculty member for this honor. These are prestigious positions, and only outstanding scholars with established reputations will be considered for appointment. The award carries an annual stipend of $10,000. See news article.

Science Teachers of Missouri  Distinguished Service Award, 2004

In recognition of long-term leadership and service to the Science Teachers of Missouri (STOM)

The Iconic Gajendra Circle at IIT Madras

Distinguished Alumnus Award, Indian Institute of Technology, Madras, 2002

The Distinguished Alumnus Awards are presented annually by the Indian Institute of Technology, Madras. Awards are presented in five categories, for excellence in academics, technology innovation, management, entrepreneurship, and in other walks of life. Distinguished Alumnus Awards have been presented annually since 1996, with a total of 30 awards presented as of 2002.

The DAA citation reads, “Prof. Chandrasekhar’s achievements in teaching, research and service to the community make her a unique member of the academic fraternity.”

Presidential Award for Excellence in Science Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring, 1999

Ten individuals and five institutions received the 1999 Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring on December 6, 1999.  The award is administered and funded through the National Science Foundation (NSF), and includes a $10,000-grant and a commemorative presidential certificate.

The mentoring awards recognize a long-term commitment to providing opportunities for greater participation in science and engineering by all Americans.  The awards do this by honoring those whose personal and organizational activities have increased participation of underrepresented groups in mathematics, engineering and science from kindergarten through graduate level.

President Clinton honored individuals and groups that have been exemplary in their encouragement of minorities, women and persons with disabilities to pursue careers in scientific, engineering and technical fields.  The president has said that they would “serve as examples to their colleagues and will be leaders in the national effort to train the next century of scientists, mathematicians and engineers.” 

Governor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching, 1998

The Governor’s award for Excellence in Teaching is presented annually.  One faculty member from each of Missouri’s two and four year institutions receives the award.

Photo: Rep. Vicky Riback Wilson, Meera Chandrasekhar and the late Governor Mel Carnahan

Photograph of 1997 Kemper Fellows: Standing, L-R: Inder Khurana, Helen Neville, Larry Kantner, James Westbrook, Meera Chandrasekhar, Benyamin Schwarz, William Bondeson.
Kneeling: Kerby Miller, Peter Casazza, Michael Porter.

William T. Kemper Fellowship for Teaching Excellence,1997

In recognition of the importance of outstanding teaching to the success of the University of Missouri-Columbia, the trustees of the William T. Kemper Foundation made a $500,000 gift to MU to establish a five-year awards program to honor MU faculty who have demonstrated outstanding teaching abilities. The foundation renewed the funding for the fellowships for another five-year period, through the year 2000. Each year ten outstanding MU teachers will be recognized with a $10,000 award.

The award is intended to honor and reward MU faculty who have demonstrated outstanding teaching ability. For this award, teaching is considered in its broadest sense. Teaching is defined to include advising and covers work with students at any level (undergraduate, graduate, and professional) and in a wide variety of settings in which instructional activity occurs at a comprehensive university (in the classroom, in the laboratory, and on the stage; through mentoring students and guiding research; and through outreach activities).

Chancellor’s Award for Outstanding Research in the Physical and Mathematical Sciences, 1990

This award gives special recognition to MU faculty members who are still in the developmental phase of their careers, have made outstanding contributions in research and/or creative activity, and have great promise for achieving wider recognition. The selection committee seeks to identify individuals whose accomplishments are impressive and yet, as mid career professionals who are rising in their fields, have not yet reached the senior level in their particular field of endeavor.

Awards in the physical and mathematical sciences are made every other year.

Purple Chalk Award, Arts and Science Student Government, 1987

Each year students may submit nominations for the Purple Chalk Award. The Purple Chalk Awards stand as some of the oldest forms of recognition for exemplary teaching at MU. They allow the College of Arts and Science to highlight and publicly acknowledge its professors who truly exhibit an investment in student learning and success.